The law in California changed in January of 2007. Before that if a landlord wished to evict a tenant without cause, he or she could give a thirty-day notice. Now, if your tenant is a month-to-month tenant, you must give them 60 days notice to vacate. However, if the tenant has been in the unit for less than a year, you can give them a 30-day notice. There are exceptions to the 60-day requirement if the property owner is in the process of selling the property. However, there are requirements that must exist before this can happen.
The great thing about the sixty-day notice is that you need not give any reason to terminate the tenancy. But it must be in line with California law.