California Eviction Process

From the Superior Court of California The Eviction Process Giving Notice In order to start the eviction process, you, as the landlord, must first give the tenant written notice. If the tenant does not do what the notice asks, you can file an unlawful detainer case in court when the notice period ends. Sometimes figuring [...]

60-day notice to vacate premises

The law in California changed in January of 2007. Before that if a landlord wished to evict a tenant without cause, he or she could give a thirty-day notice. Now, if your tenant is a month-to-month tenant, you must give them 60 days notice to vacate. However, if the tenant has been in the unit [...]

Evicting a tenant in California

If you are a landlord in California, you may believe that you can handle the matter yourself. After all, if they didn't pay rent, don't they have to go? Well, it depends. It is far too complicated to explain all the subtle nuances, but I will do that later. Here is how the process often [...]

Go to Top